Louise Penny is the #1 The New York Times and Globe and Mail bestselling author of twelve Chief Inspector Armand Gamache novels. She has been awarded the John Creasey Dagger, Nero, and Barry Awards, as well as two each of the Arthur Ellis, Macavity, and Dilys Awards. Additionally, Louise has won five Agatha Awards and five Anthony Awards. She lives in a small village south of Montréal. You can follow Louise on Facebook, find her on Goodreads, and visit her official website.

Cultural Inspirations from Three Pines

Beginning on March 14, 2017, and continuing every two weeks through the publication of the newest book in the Chief Inspector Gamache series on August 29th, we’ll be posting a creative work of cultural significance from each of the Inspector Gamache books, and opening a discussion around this work. The postings and discussions will open as follows:

About the Nature of the Feast: Recipes Inspired from Three Pines

In 2016, leading up to the publication of A Great Reckoning, we cooked our way through Three Pines. We featured a recipe from each of the books and opened a discussion around this recipe. These recipes and discussions are archived on this site, and can be found on each of the respective book sections under the “Nature of the Feast Archive” menu item.

About the Real Places of Three Pines

In 2015, we (virtually) visited some of the real places that inspired Louise Penny in writing the Inspector Gamache series. Every two weeks we posted a new essay, photos, and opened a discussion about a real place that is the inspiration behind a fictional place in each of the books. These places and discussions are archived on this site, and can be found on each of the respective book sections under “The Real Place Archive” menu item.

About the Re-Read

In 2014, we hosted a re-read of the Chief Inspector Gamache books which encouraged old fans to revisit the magic of the series from start to finish while giving new readers the perfect opportunity to start reading Louise’s books for the first time. The re-read began with first book in the series and worked its way up to the ninth until finally ending with the release of the tenth book, The Long Way Home in August 2014. The re-read offers fans exciting book recaps from esteemed members of the book community and engaging discussions around the books. These recaps and discussions are archived on this site, and can be found on each of the respective book sections under “The Re-Read Archive” menu item.

(Please note that the discussions contain spoilers for the particular book, so if you are new to the series, we recommend that you finish reading the book before reading or participating in any discussions. If you are leaving comments, please try not to post spoilers for future books, for the sake of new readers.)

Continue the Discussion in The Bistro

Now that the re-read is complete, we’ve opened a new discussion area, called The Bistro, where you are welcome to discuss any of the books or the entire series! Visit The Bistro »

About the Series

Chief Inspector Armand Gamache of the Sûreté du Québec digs beneath the idyllic surface of village life in Three Pines, finding long buried secrets—and facing a few of his own ghosts. Louise Penny’s highly acclaimed, New York Times bestselling mystery series has won the New Blood Dagger as well as multiple Agatha, Anthony, Dilys, Arthur Ellis, and other prestigious awards. In 2010 the first book, Still Life, was cited as one of the five Mystery/Crime Novels of the Decade by Deadly Pleasures magazine.

About Minotaur Books

Established in 1999, Minotaur is a premier publisher in the bestselling category of crime fiction. Garnering domestic and international awards from the Edgar to the Gold Dagger, the list encompasses the entire genre from cozies to historicals to thrillers. Minotaur is dedicated to nurturing rising new talent as well as cultivating the fullest potential of its popular genre mainstays. Visit the Minotaur website »